Here’s an excerpt from ‘Smoulder’ by Casey Carlisle

… a little teaser just for you! Post a comment (or ‘like’) below to let me know what you think.

Image

“Don’t you trust me?”

“I guess.”

Teddy punched the air and flames burst around each fist. I stared at his face in shock… it was one thing to have a theory, but entirely another to see it happen before your eyes. He smirked at me.

“It doesn’t hurt?” I asked.

“Not even a tickle.”

“I know you said it takes some concentration, but it looks like it takes no effort at all.”

“I’ve had years of practice.”

Transfixed with Teddy’s hands as he turned them over, opening his palms. Curiously the flames were orange and rippled as if stirred by a soft breeze. Less yellow than the flicker of a candle, without a blue centre. The flame, comparatively shorter, clinging to his exposed skin. I could feel warmth radiating towards me. It was so incomprehensible, and so beautiful.

Teddy took two steps towards me.

“What are you doing?” I stammered, suddenly aware of the danger of being turned into a cinder.

“You can trust me.” He closed the distance even more.

“Teddy?” I managed one small pace backward before I inhaled sharply.

“It’s okay.” His voice calmed me.

I fought every impulse to turn and flee. Watching in mute horror as his flaming hand reached for mine…

© Casey Carlisle 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Casey Carlisle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Here’s an excerpt from ‘Smoulder’ by Casey Carlisle

  1. valtrex daily dose says:

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you could be a
    great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back
    in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage you continue your great job, have a nice
    morning!

    • femaleinferno says:

      Such wonderful words!! Thanks a million (and more) Encouragement like this keeps me working hard knowing that there is at least one person getting some pleasure from my writing. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

