Red-tape-rage!

When is our hi tech, no paper computer age going to catch up with Births, Deaths and Marriages?

Red Tape Rage Pic 01 by Casey Carlisle.jpg

A little off topic with this post, but something I felt the need to share – I’ve thumbed my way through brick sized piles of forms throughout the various incarnations in my administrative career, but nothing prepares you for the red tape which needs a chainsaw taken to it while wading (or should I say drowning) through when dealing with administering a deceased estate.

Red Tape Rage Pic 04 by Casey Carlisle.jpgThe biggest hurdle to overcome is how emotionally charged everything becomes: anxious knots when you see emails from the Solicitor. Endless hours repeating yourself to yet another telephone operator from a different department within the same company you’ve been talking to while the day is stolen away accompanied by the tune of brain-melting on-hold music.

I’ve coined the phrase ‘red-tape-rage’ for the conditional eye twitch and tight neck muscles that flare up regularly as I endeavour to sort matters, which in my opinion, should be so much easier in today’s society of online technology.

The amount that is involved in this process – the number of people/organisations that are drawn into every little transaction, and the ridiculous tree wasting copies of paperwork that are compulsory make me wish for Harry Potter-esque magical powers. Completicorious! And it’s all done.

The one lesson I’ve learnt from all this is that I’m going to be putting some money aside and have all the details planned for at my demise. Forget a morbid church service – I want a Celebration of life – a multimedia presentation of the fun and madness that is my life. Great food, delicious champagne, lots of colour and sparkly things. I’m nutting out my will as right now – down to the last detail. I want everything to be as automated and go as smoothly as possible. Who wants to bog down your loved ones with the crap I’ve had to wade through over the last six months (unless you really don’t like them), plus it’s still not over. A bunch of money picked away from lawyers, hospitals, funeral homes, government agencies, and the list goes on.

Make sure you take care of your family and plan ahead. Go out with a bang and leave people smiling!

Red Tape Rage Pic 03 by Casey Carlisle.jpg
* pictures used: The Herald UK, headache_skratch.com and SydneyFuneral Homes.com respectively

 

Leave a Reply

