Getting your Finances in Order is just as Frustrating as Editing your Manuscript.

The dread and chagrin facing your Bank Manager for finance solutions can be as stilting as editing your work in progress.

The dread and chagrin facing your Bank Manager for finance solutions can be as stilting as editing your work in progress.    The past few weeks in combating a heavy dose of the flu, falling into a book coma, (hence the delay in the articles posted today) I also had to deal with my personal finances – such an exciting fortnight I could pee! [insert sarcastic eye-roll] Even though you go into a branch, you are led into an office where your consultant picks up the telephone receiver and you find you are on the phone for hours, transferred to different Departments… I recently spent 3 hours in a Branch Managers office, on hold, growing more and more frustrated at having to continually repeat my circumstances to yet another operator, only to get transferred to someone else. At the end of the day didn’t feel like I had accomplished anything other than a migraine and the intense need to punch something. You go home to think about everything, re-evaluate and try again. Reading through my chapters, scribbling down changes in red pen (or track changes on the word processor) checking facts, removing inconsequential sentences and making everything sound clear and concise: asking myself if it is still interesting and capturing the intended audiences attention feels so much like getting switched from Department to Department when I was in the Banks Branch. You need to wear different hats in each re-read in hopes of covering all your bases. And then comes the hesitation – is this version better, or merely different. Ensue headache. Luckily I’ve come to a place where neither the bank or my editing process rattle me as much, but there are times when consternation grows and I’m paralysed from making any decisions. Fellow authors that I chat with regularly chuckled when I told them my above anecdote citing that they get that same neck crunching disgruntlement in polishing their WIP. Just as telephone and internet banking were meant to make things easier, Word processors (Scrivener and the like) are meant to help the author – but I think they just bring along a different set of problems… especially if you are not too IT savvy. Don’t get me started on the whole marketing aspect through social media. I guess anything can become a monster is let to roam free, it’s up to us to keep it simple and on track and never let the man get you down!  Write on Brothers and Sisters!   © Casey Carlisle 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Casey Carlisle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content by Casey Carlisle

The past few weeks in combating a heavy dose of the flu, falling into a book coma, (hence the delay in the articles posted today) I also had to deal with my personal finances – such an exciting fortnight I could pee! [insert sarcastic eye-roll]

Even though you go into a branch, you are led into an office where your consultant picks up the telephone receiver and you find you are on the phone for hours, transferred to different Departments… I recently spent 3 hours in a Branch Managers office, on hold, growing more and more frustrated at having to continually repeat my circumstances to yet another operator, only to get transferred to someone else. At the end of the day didn’t feel like I had accomplished anything other than a migraine and the intense need to punch something. You go home to think about everything, re-evaluate and try again.

Reading through my chapters, scribbling down changes in red pen (or track changes on the word processor) checking facts, removing inconsequential sentences and making everything sound clear and concise: asking myself if it is still interesting and capturing the intended audiences attention feels so much like getting switched from Department to Department when I was in the Banks Branch. You need to wear different hats in each re-read in hopes of covering all your bases.

And then comes the hesitation – is this version better, or merely different. Ensue headache.

Luckily I’ve come to a place where neither the bank or my editing process rattle me as much, but there are times when consternation grows and I’m paralysed from making any decisions. Fellow authors that I chat with regularly chuckled when I told them my above anecdote citing that they get that same neck crunching disgruntlement in polishing their WIP. Just as telephone and internet banking were meant to make things easier, Word processors (Scrivener and the like) are meant to help the author – but I think they just bring along a different set of problems… especially if you are not too IT savvy. Don’t get me started on the whole marketing aspect through social media.

I guess anything can become a monster is let to roam free, it’s up to us to keep it simple and on track and never let the man get you down!

Write on Brothers and Sisters!

UPPERCASE lowercase banner by Casey Carlisle

© Casey Carlisle 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Casey Carlisle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

