Book Review – ‘Confess’ by Collen Hoover

Secrets and Art in an angsty contemporary tale

Confess Book Review Pic 01 by Casey CarlisleGenre: N/A, Contemporary, Romance

No. of pages: 306

From Goodreads:

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin… 

Page border by Casey Carlisle

I really enjoyed this. It had a certain type of interconnected symmetry. Some of Colleen Hoovers past novels have been gut retching, destroying – but wonderful. ‘Confess’ was beautiful without being soul crushing. It was palatable, artistic and heart-warming.

Confess Book Review Pic 03 by Casey Carlisle.jpgWith alternating POV’s between hard working yet untrusting Auburn; and struggling artist Owen, as they both struggle to come to terms with events from their past and the feelings they share, it had a laid back narrative style which I read in two sittings.

Auburn was a great protagonist, she persevered. So many heroines possess strength and special talents, where Aubrun simply survived and battled on in any means she had. An understated kind of strength that not many see (especially in novels) today. It was a pleasure to share her journey and see her grow.

Owen was a little bit cliché – the quintessential hipster artist, but luckily we got to see more than just this trope. I have to say his sensitivity is what impressed me the most: but it was more about compassion for fellow creatures than being emotional (or emo). That too, has a special kind of quiet strength.

Trey, another person connected to Aubrun’s life, annoyed me from the first line I read about him – I can’t say entirely what it was that had me forming that opinion, but there it is. He also fell into a bit of a predictable cliché – but with Colleen Hoovers expert writing, she manages to breathe life into the story despite my first impressions of the cast.

As expected Hoover weaves an interesting narrative, slowly revealing secrets to uncover layer upon layer of complexity between the characters. I have to marvel at the reveals she performs in ‘Confess’ – I was literally gagging for more.

I also liked the occasional instances of humour that had me laughing out loud. I picked this up on a whim because I couldn’t get into another title and ended up finishing it in two days. I couldn’t put it down for long. It is so compelling and had me caring about Auburn and Owen.

Best contemporary that I’ve read in a while. And an added bonus was pictures of Owen’s artwork included in the middle of the book. A great novel to bust me out of a reading slump.

Overall reaction: A cool surprise.

Confess Book Review Pic 02 by Casey Carlisle.gif

Confess Book Review Pic 04 by Casey Carlisle.jpg

Critique Casey by Casey Carlisle

© Casey Carlisle 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Casey Carlisle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Book Review – ‘Confess’ by Collen Hoover

  1. daniellethamasa says:

    Nice review…I admit that what attracted me to this article was the Kenzi GIF. I really enjoyed Lost Girl. Anyway, I’ve heard a lot of people talking about Colleen Hoover books lately and it makes me think about perhaps picking one up; then I remember how huge my TBR pile is already. Why must there be so many interesting books out there? The plight of the bookworm/bibliophile is never-ending.

    • femaleinferno says:

      I hear you sister! I no longe have a TBR just a wall of books to choose from. But being a mood reader, when I’m ready for my next book, I skim the shelves and go with my gut. It’s exciting – like a lucky dip 🙂

      • daniellethamasa says:

        I switched from a TBR pile to a TBR mug. All the titles are in a mug and I just pick a slip of paper and that’s what I read next. Well…unless I’m in the mood for something specific.

Leave a Reply

