Book Review – ‘Triton’ by Dan Rix

B-grade horror between the pages!

Triton Book Review Pic 01 by Casey CarlisleGenre: Y/A, Science Fiction

No. of pages: 334

From Goodreads:

In the middle of the Atlantic, four hundred miles west of Bermuda, the eight thousand passengers and crew aboard the cruise ship MS Cypress vanish into thin air. Everyone—men, women, and children—all gone. Taken.

Everyone except five teenagers.

In an instant, their seven day cruise becomes a nightmare: eighteen decks of haunted hallways, pools and bars completely empty, desserts still half-eaten in the abandoned Royal Promenade. A ghost ship the size of a city, sailing blind. At least their annoying parents are gone.

But now strange things are happening. Satellites are dropping out of orbit, falling from the sky. Satellites…and bigger things. They’re not as alone as they think. A message appears in an ancient language, burned into the carpet in the deck ten elevator lobby. It’s a warning. A monster lurks onboard, hunting them. What they’ve long suspected appears certain: the vanishing…it was an attack.

Now the most unlikely of friends must confront the shadowy pasts that link them and regain control of a runaway cruise ship, crack a four-thousand-year-old mystery, and wage war on a formless evil…before they too vanish into oblivion.  

Page border by Casey Carlisle

I have been really enjoying one of Dan Rix’s series, and wanted to pick up some of his stand-alones to see what else the author has to offer. ‘Triton’ called to me. I love books that mix in oceanic undertakings, and this looked like a spooky adventure on the seas. I should have taken into account this was one of his earlier works because it didn’t quite hit the mark for me…

The first half of the book was painful. With a cast of annoying characters none of whom I could relate to (or even like) and it took too long to set up the premise of the story. So I spent my time grunting, groaning and eye rolling in exasperation… goodness knows what my flat mate thought I was doing with all the strange noises coming out of my bedroom.

These characters acted with inappropriate behaviour bordering on mental illness. So not only was I having difficulty in relating to them, but their course of action just about gave me a migraine. Many, many times I felt their behaviour did not match their circumstances. It boggled my brain at how out of context it all was. Talk about a bunch of bipolar teens running around paranoid on a ghost ship.

Pacing picked up in the second half, and the cast became marginally less annoying. Though, their decision making was still circumspect. I don’t think I really cared for any of them at any point in this novel.

Triton Book Review Pic 02 by Casey Carlisle

I enjoyed the science fiction elements immensely, the premise of the story is a great hook – I was really excited about ‘Triton.’ With a great concept, pacing and the fact I did not predict the major plot twist at all, ‘Triton’ has so much going for it… it’s just the annoying cast! Argh! Also, the conclusion felt like a let-down to me personally… while magnificent, it was not something that washed me in awe; or got me excited. Not that I’d want to change the ending (though an alternative ending would be fun) but maybe re-written to keep the mystery and magnitude of the reveal. Give me that pay-off!

Triton’ possesses some great writing and story mechanics; woeful characters, motivation, and behaviour; and a so-so storyline that balances this out to just an under-average read for me. I’m glad this is one of Rix’s earlier works, because if this was a latest release I’d be seriously reconsidering my fanship.

It is an okay read, but not a book I’d recommend easily.

Overall feeling: WTF?!

Triton Book Review Pic 03 by Casey Carlisle.gif

Triton Book Review Pic 04 by Casey Carlisle.jpg

Critique Casey by Casey Carlisle

 

© Casey Carlisle 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Casey Carlisle with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – ‘Triton’ by Dan Rix

  1. Nat G. From Tennessee says:

    You have some well argued points. It is a bit slow paced but in ‘Triton’ the setting is a somewhat difficult one to make fast paced i mean come on there’s not much to interact with out in then middle of the ocean. He could have used a few more settings like maybe a shop or two, or have them kind of settle into it for a minute and be wild teenagers on an abandoned cruise ship, if I was in that kind of predicament I’d probably have a bit more fun at first and then let reality sink in no one is that accepting of that kind of situation but teens are just big kids so they should have been having a little bit more fun. It was a great read for me though. I loved that it was slow and divided into different POVs of the character’s, I enjoyed how he used their weaknesses and strengths and slowly turned each of them into hero’s- not so much Brynn she was kind of annoying- and in some ways into adults. I can’t seem to find anything similar to this type of genre which is upsetting, if anyone has any suggestions I’d love to know…

    • femaleinferno says:

      Thanks for commenting – to justify the points in my review – I was meaning that the characters behavior had not been set up, or lead to in an organic way, and the pacing faltered, because each scene in ‘Triton’ did not build up tension and drive the plot forward. It has nothing to do with where is was set, but the interactions with the characters and their assumptions. The fact that they were all over the place (mentally) failed to build up momentum. I can handle a slower paced book if I’m still finding out things relevant to the plot, or character development, and in ‘Triton’ it was not so clear. I’m not bashing the book; I loved all the other elements, it was just these simple story telling tools that I had difficulty in identifying and enjoying.

      I have nearly all of Dan Rix’s publish works and they are pretty similar. My favorite is the ‘Translucent’ series. For other book recommendations similar to ‘Triton,’ I’ve found tons on Goodreads, or Amazon through their recommendation algorithm; and alternatively through a word search on Google… just have to spend a bit of time perusing the web to find another good book.

      What was it you particularly liked, with more to go on I may be able to suggest anther title for you?

Leave a Reply

